Raison D’etre

I have become steadily more militant about politics, religion, gender, and the general idea of making people THINK and wanted a wider forum for my voice than the one I had. My blog was previously located at shoe.org, but I had acquaintances and friends who kept wanting to read what I wrote and one must be a member there to do so, so I’ve moved to a public venue. The desire to make people examine their beliefs is not a new one: when I was a young grad student teaching Philosophy I had “Question Authority” posted on my office door. Then later when I taught Jewish Ed classes, I encouraged my students always to explore and ponder, rather accept what was handed to them. (Btw, I do have religious cred: I’ve a good Jewish education, of course, being Jewish. I’ve studied Torah and can read Hebrew. Re Christianity: I’ve studied the NT in Greek and the Vulgate in Latin; I know the history of the development of the major branches; I’m even conversant with both Protestant and Catholic theology. Re Islam: I’ve only read the Quran in translation, though I’m currently studying Arabic. I’ve read about the Sunni/Shia divide, Sufism, and Wahabism. Re Buddhism: I’ve read many of the books by the Dalai Lama (current); I’ve studied Tibetan Buddhism (several varieties) and Chinese Buddhism. All of these were, alas, only in English. Re Paganism: I’ve read about Wicca and been part of a women’s circle.) So you see, I DO know the enemy. My heroes are Molly Ivins, Jim Hightower, Barbara Ehrenreich, Rachel Maddow, Jeff Sharlet, and the “Four Horsemen” (Dawkins, Dennett, Hitchens, and Hawkins), to name a few. I read the New York Times, the Washington Post, the BBC News, Mother Jones, and books too numerous to list. When I’m not breathing fire, I’m a feral librarian.

Leave a Reply

